Winter Festival of Speed - Lac La Biche information

Winter Festival of Speed – Lac La Biche information

The Winter Festival of Speed and Western Canadian Ice Race Championships will be held in Lac La Biche on Saturday, February 23rd and Sunday February 24th.

Entry fee is only $100 for the 2 day event for one class and only $130 for 2 classes. Edmonton racers will receive a $80 travel allowance back so you can race all weekend for only $20 or $50! You also get 2 free tickets to the awards dinner on Sunday.

There are ride-alongs that will pay each driver $20 so make sure to have a passenger seat and passenger seat belt in your car and you can take your family and friends and others for a few laps on the track to support charity.
There will be a charity race for Chevette’s that pays you $150 for the rental of your car with a $400 damage deposit.

On top of all this there is significant prize money and trophies for all Classes as laid out in the attached “Driver and Volunteer Payout 2019” for the LLB event and also you are earning NASCC Ice Racing Season points.

The NASCC will also be supplying an additional $60 honorarium to all volunteers on top of the $60 Travel Allowance that the LLB event will supply.

Some people drive up Friday night and some Saturday morning and it really depends on what you like to do.
See you all in Lac La Biche!

Driver and Volunteer payouts, the Schedule and the supplemental regulations.can be found at:

Upcoming Ice Races on February 16 & 17 and other planned races

The weather forecast for this upcoming weekend although not great is a lot better and as of today we are a go for Ice Race 4 & 5 for Saturday, February 16th and Sunday, February 17th.

As you know forecasts can change quickly in Alberta so please watch your email, our Facebook page and website for any last minute update.

Winter Festival of Speed in Lac La Biche is also a go at this time for Saturday, February 23rd and Sunday February 24th. Final documents are being prepared and will be sent out and posted shortly. This is a can’t miss event!

As we lost Ice Race # 3 the NASCC is going to organize a makeup weekend of Ice Races on March 9th and 10th at Roy’s Lake. These Ice Races will be our last Ice Races of the year so please make appropriate arrangements.

Ice Races Postponed to Feb 16, 17 weekend

The extended cold snap has forced us to cancel the races on Feb 9 and 10 and reschedule for Feb 16 & 17. We will hold another makeup race March 9,10 weekend, weather permitting. It will simply be too cold this weekend to ask our corner marshals and other volunteers to stand outside on a frozen lake all day.

Next Club Meeting – Wednesday, February 6th

The meeting starts at 7:30 PM at the Chateau Louis, 11727 Kingsway Avenue NW, Edmonton, in the Conference Centre. The Conference Centre is entered from the back of the Hotel, in a separate building, and we meet in a room on the bottom floor. A general gathering over refreshments usually follows the meeting in the Chateau Louis basement lounge.

Bolted hardware will be brought to the meeting for anybody who might need it.

Upcoming events
Ice Race #4 & 5 – February 9 & 10
Ice Race #6 & 7 LLB – February 23 & 24

Ice Race results have been posted including Ice Race #2

Ice Race results have been posted including Ice Race #2. To view results go to: